On Saturday I finished and felted my new Oregon Tote.  The bag turned out better than I had anticipated.  I had seen a sample knitted up at LYS and I wasn’t too happy with how sloppy and floppy it looked, so I went into the felting process knowing that I was gonna felt that sucker to a fare-thee-well.  I was pleasantly surprised at how well combining Lambs pride and Cascade 220 went.

The bag shrunk by about 40% total.  It needed approximately 1hour of felting time.  The bag was originally approx. 20″ tall including the I-cord trim. It’s now down to abour 14″ tall.  Its actually about the size of my Tide laundry detergent box….in fact I am using the detergent box to block it over. 

This project was relatively simple…..The new techniques used on this project were making I-cord seprarately…for the straps (I have done I-cord borders before); also making button holes.  Both techniques were not at all challenging and went quickly.  I did have to resist the urge to change the pattern when it looked like the buttonholes weren’t going to be centered.  That was just as well, since they turned out just fine…..I just wasn’t seeing how it was working as I was actually doing it.

This pattern turned out so nicely I definitely intend to make it up again.  In other knitting news, I also ordered the Booga Bag pattern.  It’s made up out of Noro Kureyon, which I love the looks of…..then felted.  I am also currently in the process of making blocks for a Lizard Ridge Blanket.  Its featured on Knitty’s Fall 2006 pattern line up.  http://knitty.com/ISSUEfall06/PATTlizardridge.html  It is well worth a look……It’s one of the most striking blanket patterns I have ever seen.

Happy Knitting

