I was reading the Yarn Harlot this morning and her post reminded me of my summers growing up.  My mom is a former high school teacher and 4-H leader who had no intention of letting me rot my brain during the summer with TV.  I don’t remember precisely what year she started it, but during the summers my sister and I would wake up (by 7:00 am if I remember correctly) and head down to breakfast to find a list taped to the stove hood every morning. 

 On that list was usually 4-5 different chores that we were supposed to accomplish.  They weren’t anything terribly outlandish, and being the stay at home mom that she was, she knew if we were wasting our time.  Neither my sister nor I were allowed to get a formal job until after we graduated from highschool, so we earned our spending money through allowances and our 4-H prize money and the occaisonal large project like painting or major yard work. 

 Summer was our prime time for cranking out things to enter in the fair, clothes, crafty things, photos, baked goods etc.  It was a pretty good way to earn money, and we both usually did quite well, about $75 to $100 dollars, and we weren’t even on the end of things that earned the most money (the animals).  Not to mention that we got a lot of our school clothes out of the deal!  Dad was one of the major benefactors of our summer baking, life for him just wasn’t complete if there weren’t homemade cookies around, and most of his (and our) lunches were sandwiches made with homemade bread (and not out of a bread machine either). 

I really long for those days sometimes.  I’m now a married adult and I am finding several years down the road, Mom really did know best!  I need those lists to keep me focused on my goals.  I can honestly say, I do now rot my brains with the TV……but I am nearly always doing other productive things at the same time, reading, working on the computer, knitting, sewing, cleaning, cooking etc.  I don’t just veg. out in front of the idiot box I am productive!  But I am thinking that I am about ready to start making myself lists again.  I don’t work outside the home, so I just don’t realize where the time goes sometimes.  I made a great start this morning,  I got up and took a walk this morning before sitting down to the computer.

 Heres to the “mean moms” everywhere!  I love you mom, and yes,  you really did know best!

