Well, I bit the bullet, and decided to enter both some knitting and sewing in my local county fair this year.  I have never entered anything in adult open class divisions before, so we shall see how it goes!

I entered my purple hoodie, Oregon Tote, and baby booties.  I was really debating about this, but decided after much angst that I should support my local fair.  I was in 4-H for many years, and it was always discouraging how each year, more and more commercial stuff was taking over the traditional exhibits.  When I first started entering things in the fair 20 years ago, it used to be the exhibit halls were stuffed with quilts, veggies, crafts, pictures, knitting, yummy looking pies and cakes, and all manner of animals.  It has been kind of sad going back and seeing how many fewer items there are.

 I look at this as a way of showing people what can be done with traditional arts and crafts.  Maybe my booties or hoodie will inspire someone new to take up sewing or knitting…..If more people were involved in these hobbies would we be lamenting the closure of our favorite local yarn and fabric stores?

 Food for thought…..what can you do to share your hobbies with other people?

