Every year for our local chapter of the American Sewing Guild holds a fundraiser for our group.   Our local members make doll clothes and accessories for American Girl dolls (or 18″ fashion dolls).   A large number of outfits are normally donated.  I think approximately 6 or 7 wardrobes consisting of 13-15 outfits plus an 18″ fashion doll and a carrying case for the doll are included for the winners.  So this is a large undertaking for the local chapter.  This is the first year that I have been able to participate in the fundraiser.

 My contribution this year goes in our Contemporary wardrobe category.  I made a tiny swim suit, beach bag, and contrasting swim fins.  These turned out incredibly cute.   I was about 8 years old when the American Girl dolls came out and really started to get popular, so I really grew out of mine before the more contemporary sewing patterns came out for the dolls.  I still have my Samantha doll with most of the original outfits.  Hopefully, someday I will have a daughter who will enjoy her.  I also have two neices to sew doll clothes for in the meantime 🙂

Day at the beach

Raffle Outfit

