Well, I have started my new job……It’s going very well.  It seems straightforward so far.

In knitting news, I have no news on the Lizard Ridge.  I still need to get some yarn for seaming and border.  But I should have it soon……then the fun begins.  The final arrangement of squares is not yet finzalized, so still a bit of work to be done there.

 The Monkey sock has been expanded!  I have finished all the lace repeats on the leg, and begun the heel.  Slightly out of focus…..but here is the idea, with a close up of the lace pattern below.

IMG_1513

IMG_1514

I also have started the French Market Bag from Knitty. This was a nice mindless airport project. Also useful for knitting nights because I can actually chat and keep up with the pattern.  I’m using Paton’s Soy Wool Stripes in the Natural Plum Colorway.

IMG_1523

IMG_1520

I scored a great deal on this yarn at Michael’s while it was on sale for $3.85 a skein.  I can’t find much better for feltable yarn.

My last little project was something that my sister and I worked on in Denver.  We each made a couple of these for ourselves.  Her’s are gifts for a friend who is moving away, mine are for toting knitting around.  The sock bags were made using this tutorial. I have made similar bags in the past with no pattern, so this wasn’t a huge challenge for me, and I could have done it without the pattern. But, it is much easier when you are actually given the dimensions ahead of time.

IMG_1518

Here’s a shot with my knitting tucked inside:

IMG_1516

These little bags are so simple, they only take me about an hour to make them.  I used two fat quarter squares of cotton fabric, a 9″ zipper, some interfacing and matching thread.  Only about $5.00 worth of materials, if I buy them at the fabric store.  The beauty of these are I have a lot of scraps of fabric and a stash of zippers that will let me crank one of these out anytime.

Coming Soon:  Pyramid Bags!  In the meantime happy knitting and sewing

