I had a few questions come up about this, so I thought I would address it.  The original Lizard Ridge pattern did not call for a backing.  The blanket was just supposed to be seamed.  After looking at the back of the blanket, I didn’t care for the look of the seaming and garter stitch fabric on the back.  I just really prefer a more finished look, especially for the amount of time and money spent on this piece.

IMG_0166

 First of all the choice of fabric to back the blanket is extremely important.  I chose a light weight polar fleece, because it had similar degree of stretch as the knitted blanket did.  Also, fleece is 60″ wide and the blanket was 54″.  I wanted to make sure that I didn’t have to piece the back side to make something big enough. 

 Had I chosen a woven (non-stretchy) fabric I would have had a miserable time trying to match up the the edges because the knit fabric would stretch out.  I layed the fleece out on the floor, making sure that it was particularly smooth, if just slightly stretched.  I layed the blanket on top of the fleece, and smoothed it and stretched it taught.  I trimmed the excess fleece away making two matching layers. 

After getting my two layers set.  I took large safety pins and pinned through both layers of fabric at the corner of each square to keep things from shifting around.  I took the yarn that I intended to use as edging and also used it to whip stitch each layer together.  I kept the stitches approximately 1/4″ apart.  The most difficult part of this was getting the yarn through the very tight weave of the polar fleece.  In order to get the needle through the fleece easier I used a rubber jar lid gripper to get a good grip on the needle.

IMG_0165

In the pictures you can also see that I tied the blanket, rather like a quilt.  I tied through to the back of the blanket so I wouldn’t have visible ties on front.   Each tie is at the corner of each square, and trimmed to about a 1/2 inch on the back of the blanket.  The tie is hidden on the front, so it doesn’t distract.

IMG_0164

In order to pick up the stitches for the crochet border I used the whip stitching as a guideline to pick them up evenly.

If there are anymore questions on backing, please let me know.  I will be happy to answer any additional questions.

